How I make my art. Spring Tree

This is a post from series of How to’s. I love looking at art projects in progress myself. I’m thinking of making video speed drawings, but for now just posting photo reports.

Moleskine and color crayons

I start with a fast Stabilo pen sketch in my pocket Moleskine

IMG_6907

Sometimes I just take this and scan it right to my computer to color and tweak it in Photoshop. But this time I want it to be hand drawn in bigger format, so I take my fabulous Faber-Castell A4 notepad and draw the tree again with a pencil, using my Moleskine as a reference.

After I’m happy with the composition, I outline it with a Stabilo pen. The excessive pencil gets erased.

IMG_6953

Some finishing touches for the linework…

IMG_6954

…and the outline is ready!

IMG_6955

Now time for some coloring! I’m really lucky to have a selection of Faber-Castell color crayons/pencils. Wonderful quality and colors.

IMG_6958

I pick a limited number of colors and try them with my linework. Looks fine

IMG_6959IMG_6960IMG_6961

Not forgetting to use underlying sheet of paper so that I do not smudge anything.

IMG_6979

Finished!

IMG_6980

Then I upload it into my computed for come further coloring, texturizing and final touches.

Will post the final version later.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑